It was a free time after my 8-10 a.m.tutorial class. I headed to SM Megamall to kill the time since my work starts at 2:30 p.m.

After I had taken brunch at 10:45 a.m., I went to National Book Store and took a look at some books and other reading materials inside. There was a portion where many books were displayed and it caught my attention to go there. There were a lot. I couldn’t imagine I could choose one until “Diamonds in the Shadow” was picked. I didn’t know the reason why but I felt it was a worth book to buy.

I normally read the synopsis at the back cover and if I really like it, that becomes my prospective idea of buying a book.
In short,Β  I bought the book. When I arrived home, I searched about its author. I found out that Cooney’s Diamonds in the Shadow was named a 2008 ALA/YALSA Quick Pick and was a nominee for the Edgar Allen Poe Award. Cooney’s books have received several honors, including an IRA–CBC Children’s Choice and being named an ALA Best Book for Young Adults. I told myself, it must be a good book to read.

I started to read the book the day after tomorrow. Wow! Caroline B. Cooney is such a good writer. I liked the way she wrote the book “Diamonds in the Shadow”. Asking the reason why? You have to read the book. It’s affordable at the National Book Store. πŸ™‚

