I strongly believe that CEBU is the “Queen City of the South”. But I’m not sure of what I’ve read that it’s the “Volleyball Capital of the Philippines”. Once there was a story told that Cebu was pushed to be the capital of Philippine volleyball. However, during the Shakey’s V-League, there are many Visayan teams who made their debut to play this prestigious volleyball league. As far as I remember, Southwestern University (Cebu) joined last year and University of St. LaSalle (Bacolod, another city in the Visayas region). These teams were skillful enough to play against the teams in the NCR (National Capital Region). St. LaSalle even grabbed the bronze medal last Season 8 Open Conference defeating National University.

USC Cebu

And now, another budding team from the Visayas, Lady Warriors of University of San Carlos. I visited this university last 2011 when I had my 3-day vacation in Cebu. It’s so nice to see them playing. The players are still adjusting the court’s ambianceΒ  inside the Flying V Arena. It’s a very young team yet it has what it takes to spike that Mikasa ball. Good luck ladies!

